See how Insoft Services is responding to COVID-19

NSE 4 – FortiGate Network Security Professional

  • Introduction

    NSE 4 Training is the first Fortinet technology level for professionals. The NSE 4 Network Security Professional designation recognises the ability to:

    • Install and manage the day-to-day configuration of FortiGate devices;
    • Operate and monitor FortiGate to support specific corporate network security policies.

    Who Should Attempt the NSE 4 Certification?

    Essentially, Network and Security Professionals involved in the day-to-day management, implementation, and administration of a security infrastructure using FortiGate devices.


    Recommended Training

    As an official Fortinet Authorised Training Centre, Insoft Services provides course materials and instructions used in Fortinet-delivered training. Recommended training to pass the NSE 4 exam:

    Instructor-led Training
    FortiGate Security 6.0
    FortiGate Infrastructure 6.0
    NSE 4 Bundle Training 6.0


    NSE 4 Program Requirements

    The NSE 4 certification is earned by passing the NSE 4 exam:

    • Exam code: NSE4_FGT-6.0
    • Exam name: Fortinet NSE 4 – FortiOS 6.0
    • Product version: 6.0.

    The NSE 4 certification exam is available at a Pearson VUE test centre.

    The courses FortiGate Security and FortiGate Infrastructure are highly recommended to prepare candidates for the NSE 4 certification exam.


    About the NSE 4 Exam

    • Language: English and Japanese
    • Available at: Pearson VUE Test Centers worldwide
    • Number of questions: (FortiOS 6.0) 70
    • The time allowed to complete: 120 minutes total test time
    • Scoring Method: Answers must be 100% correct for credit; there is no partial credit given. There are no deductions for incorrect answers
    • Type of questions: Multiple Choice and Multiple Select
    • The time required between attempts: 15 days
    • Transcript and Certificate: Upon passing the exam, your Fortinet NSE Institute transcript will be updated within five business days and you will be able to download a printable certificate from the NSE Institute


    • Candidates can renew their NSE 4 certification by taking the current NSE 4 exam at a Pearson VUE centre.
    • Obtaining the NSE 7 certification automatically renews a candidate’s NSE 4 certification if their NSE 4 certification has not expired.
    • Obtaining the NSE 8 certification automatically renews a candidate’s NSE 4 certification, even if their NSE 4 certification has expired.

    How to Enrol in NSE 4 Training?

    The NSE program offers flexible delivery options:

    • On-site training
    • Instructor-led training
    • Virtual instructor-led training
    • Self-paced training with facilitated labs

    To enrol in an on-site or virtual instructor-led training, contact our customer services team: